How I met Sheel – in our cupboard

I was just an ordinary woman (still am!), living an ordinary life as a Mum with five growing kids, embroiled in all the ups and downs of a conventional western life – until THAT day.

On THAT day, not a little tired of all the noise and shenanigans going on in my home, I was trying to have a quiet five minutes all by myself in my bedroom. Suddenly I heard my Mum arrive. She was so vital and alive that I knew there would be no quiet five minutes for me. In desperation I leapt into the big walk-in cupboard of our upstairs bedroom and sat down firmly on the lid of the chemical loo that was stored there. I slammed the door and found myself in pitch darkness.

Why I behaved in such a fashion eludes me. I have never needed to hide from anyone before or since. My heart pounded with the rashness and dishonesty of my action while I heard the family come up to my room, and not finding me there, go downstairs again to look for me.

A deep silence fell about me in the utter dark as I was left alone. Suddenly, a commanding  thought-voice echoed in my head.

“Stop what you are doing. Go down and enjoy the day with your mother,”it said.
Obediently, I got up off the loo, opened the door and went downstairs to join the whole family. We had a lovely day together.

It was only in the evening of that day, when I was putting my clothes away in the cupboard that I remembered my morning experience. It struck me as very curious and I examined the cupboard minutely to see if something lived in there. I could find nothing in the cupboard except a fish moth or two.

The next day, being Sunday, I again went to sit in the cupboard.

My spiritual adventure began.

Leave a Reply

